Windows Partition corrupt after OS upgrade

Reaction score
So as many people are experiencing after I upgraded to Yosemite I lost my windows Partition. Holding Cntl on boot shows no windows option to boot from. When going to disk utility on the mac side, the windows partition is still there but showing a weird name disk0s4. It is grayed out and I cannot touch it.

At this point I just want to salvage my data from that partition. Please tell me that is possible. I Created a new thread because I am really a complete noob with Macs and a lot of whats in the other threads is foreign language to me. So I need help step by step what to do and where to go.

I am hoping I can salvage all my important data, then just reformat the old windows partition.

Much appreciated for the help and input.

MacBook Pro, OS X Yosemite (10.10)

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
It is not unusual for you not to be able to do anything with a Windows partition in Disk Utility. Since the partition appears to still be there try one of the following and let us know the results.

1. Reboot the Mac and immediately hold down the Option key (not Command). If the Windows partition is in the list try to select it and boot from it.

2. If you are not comfortable doing it that way go to System Preferences and open the Startup pane. Select the Windows partition, if possible and choose restart.

OP
M
Reaction score
It is not unusual for you not to be able to do anything with a Windows partition in Disk Utility. Since the partition appears to still be there try one of the following and let us know the results.

1. Reboot the Mac and immediately hold down the Option key (not Command). If the Windows partition is in the list try to select it and boot from it.