Panicking!! Please help.

Reaction score
My mac has been REALLY slow recently, like frustratingly slow. I have lots of ads hyperlinked in the text of websites I go on, and I can't stop pop ups from coming up everytime I click on a new link... Always the same one called 'detoxmymac.com' or something. The ads and pop-ups are driving me mad, and it doesnt matter which browser I use. I have a Macbook Pro from 2009. Im not sure on specific specs as I am a complete noob when it comes to macs, although I know you can find out in the preferences somewhere?

Please can someone help me and point me in a direction somewhere as someone has said I have a virus so I am panicking as I am starting Uni in September and my mac is just bull**** at the moment!

For the record I have Adblock and Ghostery installed.

Please help :'(

Reaction score
They are Cookies ads. Sometimes you will see a alert box mentioning this website uses adcal. You could clear you cache and history. also in preference in safari click on privacy and below is a selection of cookie removals websites.

OP
D
Reaction score
I cleared my cache and cookies and reset safari completely, yet I am still getting these hyperlink ads :| thank you so much for your reply, please if you have anymore insight i will be very grateful.

Reaction score
What does your privacy tab show in safari preference "Remove all website data". next is a detail button showing list of ad sites.

OP
D
Reaction score
(outdated link removed)

not606 is another forum like this.

even with that list clear, i still get them.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Reaction score
He has those, see first post.
What extensions do you have?

OP
D
Reaction score
She :) but yes I already have those.

These are my extensions...

dmvegx.png

thanks for taking the time out to help me.

Reaction score