Email Hacking??

Reaction score
OK... I consider myself to be pretty educated when it comes to network security, I work in IT, and generally just have good common sense. I don't download and open suspicious files or plugins, I use different and secure passwords, I have a firewall...

Anyway, about a week ago, I got an email from myself that was advertising something, I quickly realized that that email had also been sent to all my contacts, and that obviously somebody had my email password. At this point, I downloaded and activated "Lastpass", Changed all of my passwords to even more secure, random ones, and also downloaded a copy of Kaspersky for Mac, as well as Macscan and did full scans of my system, which both turned up nothing in the malware department.

Fast forward a week, I just got another email from myself advertising something again. So my question is, how the **** did somebody get ahold of my updated password? Which is extremely secure. 12 random characters and numbers generated by Lastpass. I have only accessed the email account from my macbook, and my iphone.

I have no idea how my updated password was obtained, and am curious what I can do to prevent it from happening again.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
Since both sets of spam came from the same account and you changed your password in the intervening time I wonder if your e-mail addresses wasn't spoofed this time rather than hacked. One clue might be in your Sent e0mail folder. If copies of the problem e-mails aren't there spoofing is a possibility. See this lifehacker article for some ideas.

Some of our more networking/server savy members may come up with other ideas or even correct mistakes on my part.

OP
P
Reaction score