PDA

View Full Version : Start a Discussion ?



timmy_toad
11-04-2013, 06:16 PM
Hiya People, I have to admit I dont visit here very often, but I hope soon to put that right.

I would like to Comment on the Box above labelled " Start a Discussion "

just above the button PUBLISH there is a drop down menu labelled

"Please Select a Category", please, is this drop down menu supposed to show all the forum headings available at this Mac Forums Site ?

BECAUSE IT DOESNT !!!!


Tim

bobtomay
11-04-2013, 07:31 PM
No, it doesn't. That box is only there, really, for folks that have never been on a forum and couldn't figure out how to start a new thread.
Yes, there are a bunch of them.

Hopefully, after folks have been here awhile, they've figured out how to select the appropriate forum from the home page and post from there.

For those that have been around awhile and don't need that box at the top of every page to figure out how to start a new thread, you can change the skin of the forum in the drop down at the bottom of the home page or in UserCP - Edit Options... try the Test skin 4-18-13.

See the other 'Start a Discussion' thread - currently right below this one in this forum.

timmy_toad
11-05-2013, 05:52 AM
No, it doesn't. That box is only there, really, for folks that have never been on a forum and couldn't figure out how to start a new thread.
Yes, there are a bunch of them.

Hopefully, after folks have been here awhile, they've figured out how to select the appropriate forum from the home page and post from there.

For those that have been around awhile and don't need that box at the top of every page to figure out how to start a new thread, you can change the skin of the forum in the drop down at the bottom of the home page or in UserCP - Edit Options... try the Test skin 4-18-13.

See the other 'Start a Discussion' thread - currently right below this one in this forum.

Ok Buddy "bobtomay" that was very helpful and I thank you very much, I have now changed the "skin" exactly as you suggested, and, hey presto, that "start a discussion" box has gone completely, it looks more like a normal Forum now :)

PS. I have NOW seen the other post you mention, I wasn't the only one commenting on it LOL, all fixed now and I am a very happy bunny.

Tim