ftp problems on intel imac

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mid-2011 MBP 13" i5
Im having a problem when connecting to my ftp host to update my website files. It keeps saying I cannot because "blank" cannot be modified.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid
That sounds like a permission problem.

Do a 'ls -l' at the prompt and see who owns the file.

Also, I wonder if your in you own directory. Type 'pwd' at the prompt to see your current remote working directory. Perhaps you need to change it.

OP
Texasmeat
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mid-2011 MBP 13" i5
Can you explain that a bit? I'm new to web hosting stuff...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid
You probably understand this, but read this whole thing...

Your hosting company supports many users like you on the machine your connecting to. To do that they will create a folder structure similar to your Mac which is /Users/username, where username on the hosting site is likely the first part of your domain.com name ,or perhaps another name you told them to use. The name your logging in with anyway.

When you connect, it is normal for ftp to connect at the top level of your directory structure, so really you shouldn't have a permission problem. This is because each user should be able to read/add/remove/alter their own files. Your username has unique ids that are associated with the files you create and own.

First you need to know if you are ending up in your directory. It would be odd not to. If your using the Terminal command line tool 'ftp' then the 'pwd' command tells you what directory your in. If your using a GUI tool then it should say that somewhere or via a button. You need to be in or below your top level (known as root is the biz) directory.