CAn I being Hacked?

Reaction score
Hi,

I have a MacBook Pro mid 2012. Would like to ask is it possible that someone hacks my IP address from my router and then hacks my microphone laptop without me knowing about it?

If yes how can I check? I heard something about a software called nmap.

Thanking you in advance your help is really appreciated.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
As a computer professional, I absolutely shudder and wince when I hear people talking about hacking akin to people opening up a website or something..

All of the Hollywood TV shows and movies have totally diluted the effort it takes to actually hack into a system and even what hacking even means..

This, unfortunately, makes everyone equate anything that is new or unexpected as being a virus, hacking or something nefarious..

First and foremost, the onus is on all of us to actually make sure that we protect ourselves with the most basic of protection. You mentioned a router, so there you want to make sure that you have a strong password to get into the administration panel. Second, if you are using WiFi on that router, you want to use at least WPA2 strong passphrase to disallow anyone from getting onto your WiFi and so on.

Next, when you browse any website with sensitive information (bank, shopping where you use your credit card and so on), ensure that you are using the secure version with HTTPS in the URL. All of the latest browsers highlight this feature by making the URL green or something..

So before we freak out, first learn about how things work and then take measures to protect yourself and then resolve issues that make no sense..

OP
M
Reaction score
Hi Raz0rEdge,

Thanks for your reply.