Help with a refresh of an old MacBook pro please

Reaction score
Hi, I've just got an old MacBook Pro (1996 I think, Core 2 Duo, 3GB RAM).

It was installed with Lion + Office, SkyDrive, GoogleDrive, etc etc.

The problem is it works OK for a couple of minutes and then hangs. I can not move the mouse or use anything to close things. I have to turn it off. I managed to see SkyDrive was an issue in the console so I dragged it to the trash but there was no improvement.

I tried to re-install Lion by holding the command key but I had to put in my apple ID and they said I didn't buy Lion (this is true - I only bought the PC).

So, what should I do? Try to install Snow Leopard from some download?

Sorry but I'm new to macs - I just want to make it work. Any advice would be appreciated.

C

chas_m

There is no possible way -- not even if you're Doctor Who -- that that MacBook is from 1996. I think you probably mean 2006 or 2007.

First thing you should do is determine if the drive is failing. If its the original drive, it probably is.

Since you were using a "pirated" (not properly transferred, not pointing any fingers at you) version of Lion, that route is closed to you. You can (and should) buy a $20 copy of Snow Leopard from Apple (you can order it from the online store or by telephone) and install that. It will run better than Lion did on that machine anyway.

Everything you're using SHOULD work just fine with Snow Leopard (update it to 10.6.8 and run the Software Update multiple times till you have all updates). You will lose the Mac App Store and your iLife apps (you'll need to buy a copy of iLife 09 from Amazon or somewhere, I'm not sure if iLife '11 will work under SL perhaps someone can clarify). You'll need to reinstall Office from your disks, and re-download the Skydrive and Google Drive apps.

OP
A
Reaction score