Looking for a new camera

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2012 iMac 27" | i7 | 3.4Ghz | 1TB Fusion | 8GB RAM | 680MX - 2013 Macbook Air 8GB 3.3gHz 128GB Flash
Hello all,

Long time reader and first time poster! I am currently in the market for a new camera. Things to note, I am by no means a professional but I do enjoy photography and digital editing. In fact I love it.

I currently own a Nikon s210 coolpix in which I am trying to sell as well as a Canon Rebel XSI that I own and plan on keeping . However the Canon is just way to cumbersome to be able to fit in my pocket and take to casual outings.

I do want something that is compact enough to fit in my coat pocket but I want it to have better quality than the average digital compact. Is this possible? I have seen some nice Nikon cameras advertised in the last 6 months from that "Ashton Kutcher" fellow but I do not know enough about photography to be sure I am getting something that I need. I enjoy taking nature photos such as landscapes and close ups as well as candid shots of people living their life. I just want a camera that is responsive and doesn't give me blur all the time. I want crisp and smooth images and at the same time be able to edit the settings on my camera.

Sorry if I ranted.

Rj

p.s. my price range is around $300.00 USD

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch 2014 Retina MacBook Pro, 2012 Mac Mini, 160GB iPod Classic, iPhone 5
The problem with any camera in your price range is the small sensor. While almost any new camera will give you slightly better image quality than a four-year-old compact, you're still going to have an average digital compact camera if your budget is only $300. Keep using what you have and save your money until you can afford to spend $500 to $700, at which point you will see an impressive jump in image quality and responsiveness.

I'm eyeing the new Sony RX100 for my next compact digital camera.

Reaction score