Winclone error when copying Windows Partition

Reaction score
Hello,

I have been trying to find the answer to this question for several weeks now, and can't seem to figure out what is happening.

I have a 213 GB Windows partition built under Boot Camp. I have been using this partition for several years, without any incident. I have done a complete chkdsk run on it several times, and the drive appears to be clean. I have also turned off Time Machine on the Mac OSX side (Snow Leopard) to attempt to get a good backup)

Using WinClone or even Disk Utility and attempting to backup the partition, I get the following message after it gets through 85% of the backup:

hdiutil: create failed - Input/output error
return value of hdiutil create -puppetstrings -srcdevice "/dev/disk0s3" "/Volumes/Mac OS Partition/PC_Partition_Backup.winclone/Windows" 1>&2 is 256

hdiutil create -puppetstrings -srcdevice "/dev/disk0s3" "/Volumes/Mac OS Partition/PC_Partition_Backup.winclone/Windows" 1>&2 did not complete successfully
cleaning up: Mounting Disk
Volume 1 on /dev/disk0s3 mounted

I am trying to back this up to an external Seagate Harddrive that I just purchased (although the backup still fails even if I try to put it on the MacOSX harddrive in the same place). I partitioned the Seagate drive into 2 partitions (one for Mac - Mac OS Extended Journaled (1 terabyte)) and (one for WIndows - Windows NT Filesystem). I am using Winclone to put it on the Mac OS Extended Journaled side, which is what Apple told me to do. Each partition is 1 terabyte in size, so should be more than sufficient to hold the backup.

What would cause the backup to get to 85% and fail? What more can I do to get this to work?

One other tidbit of information: When I've tried to use ntbackup on the Windows side to make a disk image of my Windows hard drive, it also fails about 85% of the way through the backup. What is so magical about this 85% where it is failing no matter what I use to back up the Windows side?