Hard Drive Partition Error

Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

So I am new to mac and was trying to partition my hard drive through bootcamp and everything was going well or so I thought until it went to install windows. It asked which partition I wanted and I tried to use the bootcamp one, but it said it would not do it because it was not formatted NTFS. So without thinking I reformatted it but that then erased the bootcamp. Now my computer only opens in windows. I cannot get back to OS X Lion and I am not sure how to fix the problem so that I can have both operating systems working properly. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

OP
H
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

So I am new to mac and was attempting to partition my hard drive to run windows 7 along with OS X Lion. Unfortunately somewhere I made an error. I think it was when installing windows it asked which partition to put it on and I tried to select the bootcamp one I created. However it would not allow me to because it was in the wrong format. So without thinking I reformatted it to work. This is fine however now I can only use windows and cannot get back into OS X. If you could give any advice on getting me back into Lion and then getting me to be able to properly partition the hard drive to use both operatting systems that would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Sounds like you may have well erased Lion setting up Windows. The Bootcamp partition is made in the BootCamp environment, not by the user in Disk Utility etc. Boot and hold down the Option key to see if you can find Lion. If not looks like removal of Windows, erase and format the drive and re-install Lion.

This may mean installing Snow Leopard to OS X.6.8 and downloading Lion again from the App Store.

OP
H
Reaction score
Thats what I was afraid of. How do I remove windows and erase and format the drive?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs