IP Forwarding help

A

anathema

ok, basicly let me start by saying im kinda new to mac, and computer retarded, so go easy on me.

i have a ibook, i also have a PC that my router is pluged in to, so i use airport for the internet.

my friend is.... well this is what he wrote to me -

"its basically IP Forwarding - when someone puts the ip address of my router, it forwards them on to my web server, which is installed on my computer."

but he said he didnt know if i could do this on my laptop, as he hasnt got mac (yet might i add)

any help on this would be great.

thanks

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" iMac C2D 2.16ghz, 13" MacBook 2.0ghz, 60gb iPod vid, 1gb nano
What are you trying to do with port forwarding?

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE
What brand and model of Router do you use?

Just to be sure, you want to share your Web Page on your iBook with the rest of the world correct?

OP
A

anathema

i won't it for sharing stuff like music or what ever really, then someone could go to the the address and get what i got there.

i have a Linksys WRT54G Wireless-G Router.

OP
A

anathema

ok, after speaking to my friend once more, he said all i need to do is a get a Free Web server, he can sort out the ip stuff. but after a quick google, i couldnt find any free web servers for mac? does anyone know to recomend me?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
anathema said:
ok, after speaking to my friend once more, he said all i need to do is a get a Free Web server, he can sort out the ip stuff. but after a quick google, i couldnt find any free web servers for mac? does anyone know to recomend me?
Web Servers are platform independant. There is no need for a "Windows" or a "Mac" free web server.
Still, it does seem a little unclear as to what your friend wants to do... and why he/she feels that you need a web server for this task.

OP
A

anathema