Music Major: Finale or Logic Pro

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook White
Hey Y'all! (First Post)

I'm just starting out as a Music Major and I am in a pickle!

I'm obviously in need of a Music Notation program like Finale, and I also need software that will have great recording and playback abilities. My major instrument is the French Horn, I also play some freelance Guitar which I might want to produce on the side.

Finale is 350$ for a student and Logic Pro is 199$, price is a big factor but I'm willingly to dish out for the right software!

Give me some feedback on a selection!!!

Thanks,

Kris

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" iMac (Mid 2011), 3.4GHz Intel Core i7, 16GB RAM, 2GB Video Card, 2TB HDD
It just so happens that I use both :)

Let's go into the details a bit.

Finale

Pros:

-Absolutely wonderful notation abilities that produce great looking sheet music with minimal effort. If you are willing to delve a little deeper, you can make some really complex sheet music.

-opens as a conductor's score but to create the individual parts, it takes 1 (yes that's right - 1) click from the file menu. Instrument parts are automatically formatted and made beautiful.

-comprehensive MIDI editing capabilities.

-just about all major instruments are represented in the setup wizard but if you need a staff for an obscure ethnic instrument (a Chinese Erhu for example), you can easily create a blank staff and format it yourself which takes only a minute.

-full support for AU and VST plugin sample libraries.

-ability to scan existing printed sheet music and import it into the application for playback and editing.

-ability to transcribe sheet music using real time performances with a MIDI controller (such as a MIDI piano).

Cons:

-more expensive

-no audio recording capabilities (only MIDI recording is accepted)