Advice for writing a project quote

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new here but I already feel at home amongst my Mac and Graphic Design peers! I look forward to forming great relationships where we can barter knowledge and talk about Macs, Design, and everything else related!

I was wondering if an experienced Graphic Designer - preferably experienced in non-profit work/projects - could assist me in writing a quote for a project that I'll be doing. I'm not too experienced at writing quotes and just wanted to make sure that I'm not slighting myself or my business or my discipline/profession.

The project consists of a Pocket Folder, Capital Campaign material (maybe both Internal and External Case Statements), Organization/Profile Sheet, a Trade Show table-top display, and two retractable Vertical Banners.

ANY help offered would be greatly appreciated! Hopefully this is the right place to ask for this, if it's not, I'm sorry! If it's not the right place, could you direct me to some good sites where I could ask these type of questions and get advice?

Thanks,
JoyCreative

C

chas_m

You're likely to get more answers from a dedicated Graphics Pros type forum, but we have a few such people here. I recently did some vertical banners and a pocket folder for two different clients.

The key question I guess would be if you plan on charging a simple hourly rate (this is what I do, but it varies by client -- the more difficult the job [or client], the more expensive the rate is!) or are trying to provide a flat-figure quote (always leave a window for additional hours billed @ $X if they spring additional stuff on you).

In the case of the former, try to estimate based on what you know about the job how many hours it will take you, as truthfully as you can. Then triple that figure.