Making a site and Quicktime stuff.....

O

OzzysCross101

Ok. I know OS X like the back of my hand. I know everything i need to know to keep my Mac as happy as possible. But when it comes to designing web pages (and such) , I'm a total newbie who dosn't know much.

I am trying to creatie a site using Dreamweaver and Illustrator. My only question is, who do I get to host my site (if anyone at all) and how? Is there a way I can do it myself? I would think not, but that dosn't mean I'm right (remember, when it comes to web-based things like this, I have almost no idea;))

Also, I would like to add Quicktime movies into different places, movies that come from my Mac. Or can I not do that? I want to leave a movie in a comment box for MySpace. While i can get the code to work to start the quicktime player, I can't get the movie to play. How can I do this?

OP
S

sursuciofla

Well you can buy a domain name and hosting service. I do that currently. It costs a little bit of money though. Like $6.95-8.95/mo or whatever is the range. Usually have to pay for three months base. There are always free space on the web but you have to deal with advertisements which is the tradeoff as well as limited space. I'll leave quicktime to someone else but in Dreamweaver you just go to the Insert tab. But like I said I wll leave QT to someone else since I am no expert on it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" MacBook Pro, 8GB iPhone
I just started a site for my college tuba section and we are using Dreamhost. They are awesome. You can have quicktime streaming on your page, and you can ftp your sites directly from Dreamweaver. Check out their website: www.dreamhost.com if you order a package and put MACFORUMS as the promo code you will get a one time $25 discount on hosting.

Reaction score