Problem connecting camera to MacBook Pro

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
LOL, I have no idea! I have a MacBook Pro if that's what is meant by specs. :)
Hello,

I am very technically challenged and need help. I've had a MacBook Pro and a Canon PowerShot SX20 IS Camera for a couple of years and I have been uploading photo's on my laptop to something called Image Capture. I apparently messed up settings or something because I can no longer upload my photo's.

I've been using this camera and laptop for about 2 years now and always attach the USB cable from the camera to the laptop, turn on the camera and a window called "Image Capture" appears and then I click on "Import All" and my photo's upload.

Today I plugged the USB cable into the MacBook Pro, turned the camera on and nothing happened. There was a message saying no camera or scanner selected. I checked the camera user guide which says "If Image Capture Does not Open":

1. Connect camera to laptop and turn camera on.

2. Select the camera in the "Devices" List on the left of the screen.

This is where my problem seems to be. The Device's list is blank and I'm assuming I somehow deleted it when playing around with the computer settings. I should not play around with computer settings when I have no earthly idea what I'm doing!

So ... I'm hoping someone can give me advice on how to make my camera and laptop compatible again! I miss being able to download my pictures!

Thanks for any suggestions,

Lin

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Open your Finder and select Preferences from its menu. Click on the "Sidebar" tab. Go down to the "Devices" list and place a check in all of them. Your camera should now appear in the sidebar as a device. Also make sure the camera is turned on.

OP
P
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
tried your suggestions

Thanks so much for the quick response.