Thunderbolt as external display with IMAC(11,1) late 2009

Reaction score
Hello,

as the title says, I have an intelbased IMAC 11,1 and recently got a thunderbolt monitor. I tried everything to make them work together, did all the neccessary updates , but still, when I go to system profiler, under Thunderbolt it says "no drivers" found. And the updates are not finding anything new. Just then......I found this topic:

Getting the best performance from Thunderbolt

so, is this definite confirmation that this monitor is useless with my IMAC? Why do I then see Thunderbolt under "hardware section" ? I am connecting it with thunderbolt cable, to my IMACS minidisplay port. Is that maybe a problem? Should I get some other type of cable ?

I am not experienced MAC user, but I really can not wrap my mind around the fact that this monitor is just wasted and I can not use it with my IMAC.

All the help, hints and advices are very welcomed.

Greez

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I believe that's a 2009 model iMac, is it not?

If it is, it will not have a Thunderbolt port - although it should have a standard Mini DisplayPort connector - and that should at least send a display output to the monitor, even if it doesn't enable the use of Thunderbolt bus connectivity.

But considering the cost of that monitor, you could probably find a more cost-effective external display. The big advantage of that monitor is its Thunderbolt "hub" and power connectivity for notebook models. If you can't use either, then you might as well go with a third party monitor.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
Thunderbolt displays require a thunderbolt connection, which appeared in 2011. So no, it won't work with your 2009 iMac.

OP
X
Reaction score