About to switch!

I

iMat

hi this is my 1st post!

im thinking of getting a new iMac (the one with iSight built in), and need to know the answer to a few questions.

1. can macs be networked to windows pcs?(the other computers in my house are windows)

2. will i need to buy all of my software again for mac? (word, photoshop, norton etc)

3.how will i get all of my files from my current pc to the mac?

4. will i have to reformat my ipod to my mac?

5. do imacs come with an email program?

6. do they come with a word processor, if so can they save in windows format (.doc)?

sorry if they are stupid questions, but i am a noob at all this...
thanx for any replies!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" MacBook Pro, 8GB iPhone
1) Yes macs can be networked to pc's, the best tutorial I have found is this one:
http://www.ifelix.co.uk/tech/3001.html

2) Yes, unfortunately you will have to get all the software for mac, there are free versions of most programs. Ive never used them so I cant tell you how well they work, but im sure somebody else will let you know.

3)If you can network your pc to your mac with the tutorial above, you can simply transfer them that way. Or if you have an external HD or you could put everything on your ipod and transfer it that way. I would try to network the computers and transfer files that way first.

4) No, a windows formatted ipod will work on a pc or a mac the same. Although, an ipod formatted for mac will not work on a windows pc, so I would leave it formatted for windows. My ipod is formatted for windows, and it works great.

5) Yes, all macs come with an email program called Mail, its an awesome program and I use it for my gmail account.

6) Yes, they come with a word processor called textedit, its kind of like notepad on a pc. You can save as a .doc with it as well.