• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

MacBook or iPad ?!

Reaction score
Hi.

I'm a newbie to Macs and this forum.

If I was looking to get get a Mac, what should I get.
MacBook or and iPad?

I appreciate some differences but don't know what I cannot do with an iPad, that you can do, on a MacBook?

So, your opinions/advice would be appreciated.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/3G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.
Macbook all the way. Nice as the iPad is, it's not a computer in any real sense.

OP
Rik.
Reaction score
So, I assume that you cannot load programmes like Fusion 4 to be able to run Windows programmes?
There's not DVD Drive on an iPad, so, I assume that you cannot do all the things that you can, with a MacBook?

How do you load various Mac programmes like Office for Mac, or can you not?

That's the sorts of questions I have.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" Intel iMac 2.4 Ghz/3G Ram/320HD, Snow Leopard. PBook G4, 1.5Ghz/1.5 Ram/250 HD, Leopard 10.5.6.
Basically the iPad will let you do basic (and by that I mean it has limits when it comes to some things) browsing of the web, and run iPod style apps.