Backing Up Aperture to an external disk

Reaction score
Hi all,

Im a newbie here in both senses! New to the forum and also fairly new to the wonderful world of all things Mac!

I also am a keen amateur photographer and have just transferred all of my pictures across to Aperture on my Macbook Pro.

I do use Time Capsule, but I also want to back up my library to an external disk just in case (I have thousands of extremely important pictures I don't even want to consider losing).

Is it as easy as copying the Aperture library onto my external disk or is it more complicated than that?

If so...can someone give me an idiots guide?

Thanks a lot...looking forward to using the forum!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
As it is true for Lightroom, so it is true with Aperture that you do not have to keep your physical photo files on the same drive as the actual Aperture library. I do in fact keep ALL of my photo (and music/video) files on an external hard drive and work with them that way. To go one step further, that external HD is hooked up to my Airport Extreme. Thus, I am able to tote my MBP around the house and work with my Aperture/Lightroom files wirelessly.

The only caveat is that you MUST keep the actual "library file" on your internal hard drive. This library is a a culmination of thumbnails and preview files which are cached for faster access to said file. The actual physical files are then referenced from the external drive.

The Aperture library file's size, will then depend upon things such as preview size, how many copies are being made etc etc.. and these options are accessible in preferences.

A hint, if you want to import an entire folder: shift+cmd+I Just make sure to say "store files in their current location" if you intend on working from a networked or external drive.

Doug

OP
H
Reaction score