• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Mac Certified

Reaction score
Hi,

I would like to obtain certification for Mac software and hardware. I am new to mac products. What are the certification available to take? Also, where is a good place to obtain study material so I can study on my own. As for taking the exams, is it similar to Comptia's exams? Do I schedule it at an authorized exam location?

C

chas_m

Unless you're quite wealthy, you're not going to be able to do this on your own. The exams are rather expensive and with the exception of the MacTech conferences, there's not many places that can help you.

The basic study tools are books you can buy from Amazon (look for them by Author: Apple), but the way you are really going to pass the tests is by hooking up with an authorized repair facility who will take you on as an apprentice (and will often pay for the tests if you are promising).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.6GHz Core i7 15" MacBook Pro - 8GB DDR3 SDRAM - 750GB 7200 RPM HDD - GeForce 650M GT 1GB VRAM