aperture vs elements

Reaction score
I'm a very amateur photographer looking to start tweaking photos more than what iphoto offers. i have $100 to the app store, and am wondering if i should get aperture 3 or photoshop elements. i downloaded the aperture 3 trial and while i like it, it ran pretty slow. does elements offer what aperture offers in terms of making slight adjustments to photos to make them look better?

BrianLachoreVPI

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
I would definitely go with Aperture between those two choices. With Aperture you'll also get a catalog management system.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.
.. but... elements is more of a pixel editor.

I think there's an elements trial as well?

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Might also want to look at Pixelmater in the APP store. I have it and Elements (and Aperture too).
I still use Elements as my editor, but from what I have seen and read Pixelmater isn't bad either.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Imac 21.5 2011 Stock with Time Capsule. Ipad2 Colecovision
Is Iphoto good just for amateur photographers for editing and such?

Or should one step up to Aperture? Aperture sounds like a bargain but if I can do good basic editing on Iphoto then why spend the money?
Aperture looks so awesome though

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MB003LL/A
For photo editing, I would highly recommend Adobe Lightroom. Simple to use, but very powerful. I do not think Apple Store offers it separately, so that's bummer.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Imac 21.5 2011 Stock with Time Capsule. Ipad2 Colecovision
Adobe Lightroom? Never heard of that but I will check it out
thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Way... way too many specs to list.