External HD not Readable

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mid '10 MacBook Pro, 128GB iPhone 6, 160GB iPod Classic, 32GB iPad 4th Gen, AirPort Extreme, AppleTV
I have a 1TB G-Raid Mini that a very nice friend gave me when he apparently moved on to something better :)Confused:?). Anyway, it has been working fine until last night when I left it connected overnight while I thought I was writing information to it. This morning I come to check on everything and it appears to be ejected because I can't see it when using Finder. Since I am new to both Macs and G-Raids, I just chalked it up to being some sort of automated ejection after the work was complete to save power or disk life or something. So I unplug it and re-connect it and get the message, "The disk you inserted cannot be read by this computer." Forgive the expression, but I am about to $h!t a brick! I cannot lose all of this information! Is there any kind of troubleshooting you can suggest?

Thank you so much for any help and advice!

Cheers,
Lefty

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
I have a 1TB G-Raid Mini that a very nice friend gave me when he apparently moved on to something better :)Confused:?). Anyway, it has been working fine until last night when I left it connected overnight while I thought I was writing information to it. This morning I come to check on everything and it appears to be ejected because I can't see it when using Finder. Since I am new to both Macs and G-Raids, I just chalked it up to being some sort of automated ejection after the work was complete to save power or disk life or something. So I unplug it and re-connect it and get the message, "The disk you inserted cannot be read by this computer." Forgive the expression, but I am about to $h!t a brick! I cannot lose all of this information! Is there any kind of troubleshooting you can suggest?

Thank you so much for any help and advice!

Cheers,
Lefty