Which application?

Reaction score
Hi,
Apologies if this is not strictly the right forum, but I can't see anything more relevant.
I'm getting on in years, and want to use my Mac make some kind of file which my grandchildren (and who knows, great grandchildren) can open when I'm gone, and find out all about me - wish I had something like this for my own grandparents. In old-fashioned terminology, I guess it would be called a multi-media file. I want it to contain quite a lot of text, but also images, audio files, video files, web links, links to my family tree, and to be interactive. Also to be able to be transferred to DVD, and if possible to be readable on platforms other than the Mac. Is there a single application which could create this kind of file? Or would it be best to just create a web site for this? If so, what would be a suitable web creation package? (I have no experience on this kind of application). If this isn't the right forum, would appreciate any pointers as to where to go.

Steve

C

chas_m

Genealogical trees have a standard format: GEDCOM. It's transferrable across platforms and every Mac genealogical program uses it. The Mac has a number of good genealogical programs, I happen to like MacFamilyTree but there's Reunion and others.

As for your "assets" in this project -- the scans of the photos, the video files, the text and the audio files -- there are standard cross-platform formats for all that stuff (well, video's a little iffy as you'll see). There's no telling what the future will bring, but for now the safest possible format for unstyled text is good old TXT format. For styled text, you are safest with RTF (or RTFD if there are embedded graphics).

For photos, JPG and TIFF are the longtime standards, and for audio files you're best off with WAV (uncompressed) or MP3 (compressed) for maximum longevity.