Wireless Router

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac | iPod nano | iPhone 4
Ok here I am a year later, I was going to buy an iMac last year at this time but health issues came up and had to put my plans on hold but now all is better. I am going to buy my first Mac this weekend at the Apple store in Charlotte, NC. Ok here is my question my wife is still using a PC and I will be using the Mac and my son has a laptop pc of course all are wireless capable. I am looking at the Netgear N600 dual band router we do not have a wireless network in our apartment as of now, so with that being said will the router work together with the Mac and PC without problems. I am new to the wireless scene guys so I need all the help I can get!:Confused: Is this a good router or should I look at something else? A friend of mine that I work with has Mac and PC and says he does'nt have an trouble doing this.
Thanks

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Moved to correct forum.

Yes the router will work equally well for both your Mac and PC. That assumes of course that you set everything up correctly.

Reaction score
Routers are platform agnostic. That is, they don't care what kind of computer they are working with. However, that doesn't mean that all routers are on equal footing, especially when it comes to the Macintosh.

Any router you purchase will be a tradeoff between being easy to setup and configure, being well supported (especially with regard to the Macintosh), and price. There are four very popular brands. Apple, Netgear, D-Link and Linksys.

Apple routers are the easiest to setup and use with your Macintosh, have excellent support, and tend to be the most expensive.

Netgear routers are fairly easy to setup and configure, and can be found dirt cheap, but they have been known to have terrible support (this can really vary, though).