Which software to get?

Reaction score
OK, I'm a beginner in music production, and im looking to see which software is best to get. I've been looking at and been suggested to get one of these: Pro Tools 9 / Reason 4 (havent read about the most recent one) / Cubase 4 / Cubase 6.

The thing is as a beginner ive got no idea if these programmes all do the same thing or if their tailored for different aspects. I'm looking for a software where i predominantly make music using the virtual instruments, but also have an option to add in vocals + guitar. I'm not looking to spend too much, but if its the case of regretting not spending more in the long run, ive got a maximum budget of 400-500quid. But ideally id prefer to spend around 300.

I'd appreciate any of your thoughts!

Cheers :)

C

chas_m

I suggest starting off with the absolutely free and really quite nifty Garageband that's already on your Mac. Comes with a decent loop library, you can buy more from either Apple or third parties very inexpensively, you can plug in a guitar (I recommend AmpliTube, again not too expensive and quite impressive) and vocals (I use the Blue Snowball but there are lots of options -- even an XLR to USB adapter if you already have a mic you prefer).

robduckyworth

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP, 2.5GHz i7, 750GB, 6770M 1GB, iPad 3, iPhone 4, custom PC
Reason is not a fully fledged DAW. it has some great instruments but its more MIDI based. you could get reason/record bundle, i think this brings alot of extra functionality, but i havent used it.

i use Pro Tools mainly, and i find it to be the best for audio production work. MIDI capabilities with PT are average, its got nothing on Logic due to the plug-in architecture Pro Tools uses: theres far less bundled synths. third party synths that work with pro tools are expensive. bear in mind only pro tools 9 can use third party interfaces, any earlier version you need to have Digidesign/Avid hardware to be able to use it.