PDA

View Full Version : DVD......No Way To Eject



MontanaMac
03-08-2011, 08:22 PM
I have a blank DVD in my disc player because I was going to record a movie I made. I can't get it ejected because it doesn't show up on the desk top. How can I get it out? I did look and couldn't find a way.
I was going top put the movie on DVD, but it says I can't because some of the audio files are on a dvd, but it can't access them because I put the blank in the drive to record it....arggggg

McYukon
03-08-2011, 08:42 PM
Hit the eject key (⏏) on your keyboard?

Moss
03-08-2011, 09:08 PM
Try running "drutil tray eject" in Terminal (Terminal can be found under Application/Utilities/Terminal.app. Let us know if that works!

Also:

If your computer has an eject button on the keyboard, restart the computer holding down the Option key. When the startup disk selection screen appears, let go of the option key and press the keyboard's eject button.

MontanaMac
03-08-2011, 10:10 PM
LOL, now I feel stupid. Looked all over my hard drive for the eject, didn't think about it being on the key board. Thanks again guys.

Kevriano
03-09-2011, 07:50 AM
While it's not nice to point and laugh, this did crack me up. Thanks for the laugh.

MontanaMac
03-09-2011, 08:02 AM
LOL, I'll take my punishment when due.

bobtomay
03-09-2011, 08:06 AM
If only all the answers were so easy. :D

safarisurfer
03-10-2011, 04:56 PM
this is a valid question so dont feel bad. especially if you installed windows with no boot camp drivers. with no boot camp drivers in some cases the dvd drive key will not function and will not eject. you have to physically go in to my computer right click he cd rom and choose eject.

the eject is different then most computers so either way i think it was valid :)

Larry H
03-10-2011, 06:25 PM
My Mini has an 'eject' symbol in the top menu bar just to the left of the date, between the Airport and speaker symbols.

Larry H

safarisurfer
03-10-2011, 07:49 PM
my comment didnt come out the way i wanted it to. it makes it seem like he tried to install bootcamp when he didnt. i need to stay on topic better

Moss
03-10-2011, 08:14 PM
Oh, I gave a force eject solution via terminal, as I believe you meant you had tried that keyboard eject button and it failed... :P Glad to hear a simple scan of your keyboard solved the problem!

Jinpa88
03-12-2011, 09:52 AM
HELP!!! I've used the Terminal, the eject button, right-clicking on the dvd icon and choosing 'eject', the eject option from the DVD player app. Nothing is working.

This is my second drive and the computer's only 3 years old. The first one was replaced under Apple's warranty. Can't imagine what it'll cost me if I bring this to Apple. Ugh.

MontanaMac
03-12-2011, 10:00 AM
Try checking screen for any messages that something may be using the disc. Happened to me once, the message was under something on desktop and I didn't see it until my frustration level had reached a point where I sounded like a Hysterical Donald Duck

bobtomay
03-12-2011, 10:05 AM
HELP!!! I've used the Terminal, the eject button, right-clicking on the dvd icon and choosing 'eject', the eject option from the DVD player app. Nothing is working.

This is my second drive and the computer's only 3 years old. The first one was replaced under Apple's warranty. Can't imagine what it'll cost me if I bring this to Apple. Ugh.

boot the machine while holding down the mouse/trackpad button

Archangele
04-17-2011, 08:22 PM
Ok, here's a good 'won't eject the DVD" problem. Today I was watching a DVD and when it was over, no problem. I just hit the eject key and it came out. I put in another DVD movie and the thing started to read, then stopped, then started up again then stopped and on and on.. It just kept cycling. OK, I figured bad disc. So I hit the eject button. Nothing. I figured I'd open up Finder and click on the eject icon. Well, while in Finder, the CD drive didn't even show up. I had to manually hold the power switch to turn the computer off. Oh, this is an older (2008 or 09) Macbook 13". I turned the computer back on and it took a long time to finally boot, When I got to where I type in my password, the DVD drive started the cycling again. Spin up, spin down, spin up, spin down. Finally after riding the eject button like a cheap horse it finally ejected the DVD.
I believe another poster here has the same problem. OK, that said, I'm betting this DVD drive is failing. I'm going to try a cleaner disc and see what happens. I've had minimal luck with those things, though. Where can you get new drives for these Macbooks? Can I just use any external drive as opposed to replacing the internal or is there a particular one that is best for Mac's? I'm not as interested in burning discs as I am in playing CD's and DVD's and being able to load software. At this point, I am afraid to even put any discs in this drive. Oh, it did work with another DVD and with a music CD after this fiasco. The two discs I tried that did give me trouble have all played fine in my iMac 27 and two Marantz DVD players I have at home.

chscag
04-17-2011, 08:32 PM
Instead of a lens cleaning disk, try blowing some compressed air into the drive slot. Compressed air canisters are sold at most places that have computer accessories.

As for a replacement optical drive, try Other World Computing (http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/optical-drives/superdrives/). They stock exact replacement drives and third party units.

Archangele
04-17-2011, 09:10 PM
Instead of a lens cleaning disk, try blowing some compressed air into the drive slot. Compressed air canisters are sold at most places that have computer accessories.

As for a replacement optical drive, try Other World Computing (http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/optical-drives/superdrives/). They stock exact replacement drives and third party units.

I'll give it a try. If all else fails, I guess I'll just have to replace the drive. I figure either it is dirty or the laser has become weak, a problem I have encountered in a lot of music CD players for home audio systems. I'm sure computer CD / DVD drives suffer from the same issues. Just wasn't sure if there may also be some software glitch. This machine is old enough that it was originally set up with Leopard. I upgraded it to Snow Leopard. But that was a couple months ago.