PDA

View Full Version : A Couple Of Things I Need Help With

MontanaMac
02-20-2011, 07:32 AM
Hello my freinds. I'm a newbie here. Looks like some very smart individuals on here, so I picked this forum for advice. I have a couple or more quick questions I'll post in this thread.

1. I screwed my Stickies up. I have the icon with 3 stickies, but I cant do anything with them...no new ones, can't resize or edit text,..ect. How can I re-set them?

2. I downloaded Google Earth, and have used it, but during the download, it asked me to drag Google Earth to my hard drive How can I do that? Every time I go to use it, the 2 icons keep coming up that say...Drag Google Earth to hard drive / double click the plug in to install it.....I don't want the Google Chrome that is offered on the same box.

Thanks everyone.

toMACsh
02-20-2011, 09:45 AM
Number One
First, copy this file
HD/Users/YourUserName/Library/StickiesDatabase
to an external drive or storage device to preserve the content of any saved Stickies. (I think!)

Then move this file
HD/Users/YourUserName/Library/Preferences/com.apple.Stickies.plist
to your Desktop.

Now open Stickies. If it works, but you don't have your saved Stickies, close it, and copy the first file back to that location. Try again.

Hope this helps.

Number Two
I don't know. But, it sounds like you're running it from the downloaded disk image, and you haven't installed it. You should drag the one you want to the Applications folder. (HD/Applications)

HD=root level: the icon in the upper right corner.

MontanaMac
02-20-2011, 10:42 AM
1. I didn't save the first file you posted because I don't have anything in Stickies I needed to save.
I highlighted the second file and dragged it to my desk top, but it won't open for some reason. Arrrg. I need stickies to keep my notes.

2. Google Earth seems to be working now, but how do I keep the icon in the bottom at all times so I don't have to go into apps to get it?