New MBAir and Time Capsule

Reaction score
I've had a 2T Time Capsule for a while, and now I have a MacBook Air (MBAir), new release. I don't think I was always getting everything out of my Time Capsule, so I want to set it all up again for the best.

Situation: I have MBAir, Verizon DSL modem/wireless router in one, Canon wi-fi printer, iPad, and iPhone. Bottom line, I want to be able to print from my iPhone and iPad via AirPrint, but it doesn't work. I've tried downloading things, but nothing.

So, I figured I would connect my printer to my Time Capsule via ethernet, but I can't do that because then I won't be able to connect my Time Capsule to the Verizon DSL modem/wireless via ethernet. Old house and have to have them in different rooms because of phone ports etc.

So, to the point. Can I connect the printer to my TC via ethernet, and then connect my TC to my wireless internet (Verizon modem/wireless) wirelessly so that it will back-up my MBAir and my fiance's MBPro? Does that make any sense?

I was going to follow an old post (http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/ai.../104695-setting-up-time-capsule-problems.html by mojonandha), but it mentions connecting the TC to computer via ethernet during set-up. Problem is, my MBAir doesn't have an ethernet port. If I connect TC and MBAir via USB, would it be the same thing?

Also, I want to access the internet through the Verizon modem/wireless - unless I really would be better served using the TC as the main wireless router which would be connected to internet through ethernet to the Verizon modem/wireless. If just sounds like a lot of steps - and my fiance says her MBPro internet runs slower when we did that before.

I tried several different ways, but ended up getting locked out of the TC and had to hard reset.

And then, what is WAP2 etc. and is it easy to set up? I guess I have a lot of things going on here, sorry. I've tried researching, but nothing ever addresses my issues specifically.

Please help...

Slydude