How do I format a USB HDD?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Aluminium running at 2.4 GHz.
Hi Guys,
I apologise if I got the terminology wrong but I'm new at this stuff.
I bought myself an external hard drive (USB 2.0) and when I connected it for the first time a new icon appeared on my desktop showing the hard drive with an odd 3 pointed USB type of image. This was after being shown the Time Machine option and rejecting it for the time being.
That's the good news.
The bad news is that the "Get Info" label shows it to be NTFS.
Thinking that my Mac would automatically change that to whatever file system that Macs use I tried to drag a file folder over to the external HDD but it wouldn't work. That being so, my guess is that I need to do some work on the external drive before it will work with my Mac.

Any ideas?
Cheers,
Steve

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
Hi Guys,
I apologise if I got the terminology wrong but I'm new at this stuff.
I bought myself an external hard drive (USB 2.0) and when I connected it for the first time a new icon appeared on my desktop showing the hard drive with an odd 3 pointed USB type of image. This was after being shown the Time Machine option and rejecting it for the time being.
That's the good news.
The bad news is that the "Get Info" label shows it to be NTFS.
Thinking that my Mac would automatically change that to whatever file system that Macs use I tried to drag a file folder over to the external HDD but it wouldn't work. That being so, my guess is that I need to do some work on the external drive before it will work with my Mac.

Any ideas?
Cheers,
Steve

Just for you since I was bored yet again.

OP
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs