WinMCE WMA->MAC->CD

D

Dennisco

I'm sure this question has been asked and answered 100 times, so please forgive my ignorance. I've used MS Windows since Windows 1.0. Always giggled at the MACs. Don't smack me yet.

Recently, I bought two MACs; an iMAC G5, and a PowerPC G5. Both are running Tiger. I'm new to MACs, and I have to tell you that I am very impressed. I love them. I don't use the Windows machines unless I have to. I'm trying to switch everything I do over the MAC. Apple Corp should love people like me.

Here's my dilema. Prior to seeing the light and buying the MACs, I ripped over 750 CDs into WMA format on my Windows Media Center Edition PC so that I could share my music throughout the house. Works great.

Now, I want to sit at my MAC and play it AND burn it. Playing it isn't a problem as I use the Sonos Music System (mesh network) and they just released, and I just installed, the MAC version. So I'm happy.

However, Windows Media Player 9, while it will play WMAs on the MAC, will not BURN them (like Media Player 10, unavailable as of now for the MAC).

I really do not want to (e.g. I'm not willing to go through it again) re-rip all those CDs to a MAC-compatible format for the purpose of burning. I'm looking for a way to access the WMA files on the WinMCE machine from my MAC, and create playlists AND burn the audio CDs on the MAC. I have no need to burn MP3 CDS; just std audio CDs.

I read the specs on Roxio Toast 6, but it doesn't specifically mention (on their site) that it will import WMA files. if it doesn't, it's of no use to me.