Mac and pc printer sharing?

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

Can anyone help and explain this in very plain english, as I'm not very good at hardware stuff!

I've got a mac and my boyfs got a pc. He wants to connect and use my printer, which is usb plugged into my mac.

We share a broadband connection and the whole house is networked up.

Can someone explain how we can connect him. I've tried looking on the network but I have no idea what I'm looking for or how to do it! I've gone into system preferences and turned on printer sharing, what else do I need to do? And why can't he see my machine, actually while i'm asking how do I connect to his pc to share files etc?

Thanks all!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
with regards to sharing the printer I really do not know since I use a printer server.

with regards to sharing your files with him, it should be fairly easy you can go to GO in finder and click on network. You should be able to see all the networked computers there, but sometimes you are unable to to that so you can hit command k to oppen a box where you will type in smb://192.168.x.x where the x's are the last 2 entries in your boyfriends computer's ip address. and it should then mount your boyfriends computer to your desktop after requesting a password from you. I hope this helps.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 24" 2.66 C2D, 13" MacBook i7 2.9GHz, iPad 3, iPhone 4
Small giraffe said:
Hi Everyone!

Can anyone help and explain this in very plain english, as I'm not very good at hardware stuff!

I've got a mac and my boyfs got a pc. He wants to connect and use my printer, which is usb plugged into my mac.

We share a broadband connection and the whole house is networked up.