Drop outs using Ableton and Traktor

Reaction score
hey there all

I have a macbook pro i7 2.66ghz with the turbo charge thingy running 4g of ram, now im a musician and i basicly run 2 rather powerful programs at the same time (ableton 8 and traktor scratch pro) these both tax a fair bit of cpu and im starting to see my MB slowing down whilst using them and i am fining that there is some small audio drop outs, and im thinking it maybe because the mac is hiting its max cpu and jamming abit.... not that long ago i had a thread about upgrading to 8g of ram and a couple of people said "no one needs 8g of ram" well am i wrong?? Would a simple Ram upgrade fix this issue??

And what steps would you recommend to take to make sure that there is maximum speed available, i just want to stop being nervous each gig that there is going to be audio dropouts that make me look like a idiot!!

thanks

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
I just read that other thread here and no one said "no one needs 8g of ram".

The fact is very few folks need 8 GB of RAM. Using your machine in a professional capacity, you might. I would not suggest that upping the RAM would lead to taking care of your issue though.

The answer lies in looking at your RAM and CPU usage while running the apps to see what is being maxed out. If you're seeing less than 500MB free memory while running both apps, then you "might" see an improvement with more RAM; less than 250MB - you probably would see some improvement. If the issue is that one or the other of these two apps are not making proper use of the multi-threaded capabilities of the CPU or are fighting each other for CPU clock time, more RAM probably will not help at all.