Multiple photos and space overload!

Reaction score
I have a 2009 MacBook Pro and I'm a Photographer. So you can imagine the amount of used space I have. I've only had my computer for a year and I'm already getting constant "Start-up disk full" announcements on end. I delete pictures all the time just so I can at least get 1gig of extra space.

I use iPhoto to store my pictures, and personally it works. And to make a long story longer, I just found out today that when I upload my photos onto my iPhoto, not only is it uploading there, but it's going somewhere else on my computer! So I'm getting multiple pictures in different places, and when I'm deleting pictures on my iPhoto- I'm not *actually* deleting the picture!

So now, not only do I have 20,000+ photos all from last November to present, but I have to go through and delete what I thought was already deleted!

My question: Why is it doing that and how do I make it stop?

Help!

Thanks for reading. ;D

CrimsonRequiem

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.3 Ghz 4GB RAM 860 GB SSD, iMac 3.4 GHz Intel Core i7 32GB RAM, Fusion Drive 1TB
I can't really comment on iPhoto because I don't really use it.

For one thing if you are thinking about doing this professionally I would use something other than iPhoto. Not that there is anything wrong with using it...it just seems to make things more complicated then it needs to be. Especially when we are talking about disk space.

Seems to me...you need to invest in an external HDD or some kind of backup system for your photos.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
If you're going to use iPhoto I would recommend picking up a copy of iPhoto the Missing Manual.