PDA

View Full Version : Question about Handbrake on PC



gbtjom
07-29-2010, 09:16 PM
Hello

I'm trying to convert a .avi file to .mp4 so I can watch it on my iPad. I used Handbrake but the file ends up only having the audio...it's a great audio extractor. lol However, that isn't what I want.

Anyone else have a similar problem?

Thanks

jom

Nethfel
07-30-2010, 07:43 AM
You'll probably find that most here use Mac lol - but it would help to know what settings you're using as well as the resolution of the source file.

gbtjom
07-30-2010, 03:42 PM
You'll probably find that most here use Mac lol - but it would help to know what settings you're using as well as the resolution of the source file.

Yes, I understand. However, this is a forum full of iPad users I'd imagine. I looked at it from that POV. :D

Anywho, when I look at the properties of the file it says they have a frame rate of 200 fr/sec, 16 bit sample size and video compression called "MS-CRAM".

Not sure what all of that is but there ya go!

Thanks

jom

Nethfel
07-30-2010, 09:47 PM
200fps??? That can't be right. Normal video is 30fps or lower. MS-CRAM is an ancient codec (like dating back to the early '90's). I don't even have an AVI file with that codec to even attempt to transcode it. It's very possible that Handbrake is not able to recognize it properly. You can always try getting something like mpegstreamclip for Windows. Another tool you can try is MediaCoder (it's much more difficult to use, but it does seem to work well)