Newbie Questions regarding iBooks and more

A

amativesound

Hello all.

I have a few questions about Apple products but first let me give you just a little bit of background.

My name is Ren. I will be commuting to college starting this August. I decided I wanted a mac to help me out with my college career. After seriously inspecting the mini for a long time, I have started to consider the iBook more seriously. Particularly the 14" combo drive model. The only other computer I have ever owned was this old Windows ME piece of garbage I am using right now. This is where the questions start flowing!

I am a musician. Garageband is awesome. How good will an iBook suit my needs for recording? I am aware I have to buy something to have an audio input. Any ideas? And how about RAM? What's the minimum I should use?

I also do some light video editing. We're talking really light. Like 15 minute or less films with very little effects. Will the iBook work for this?

My last *phew* question is about podcasting. Are podcasts part of the fee thing like the $1 songs or are they free? They interest me a lot. It's like radio talk shows but you don't have to worry about missing something if you have to leave! Awesome!

The PB is way out of my price range so that's out of the question. Darn! That thing's pretty.

I look forward to your responses and any suggestions you may have for me. I'm a disgruntled spyware/virus battler so I'm just generally excited about OS X!!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook
amativesound said:
I am a musician. Garageband is awesome. How good will an iBook suit my needs for recording? I am aware I have to buy something to have an audio input. Any ideas? And how about RAM? What's the minimum I should use?