Newbie In Photography - Image Quality

JRV

Reaction score
I am fairly new to photography. I have a decent grasp of how to use focus and lighting but I do have one question. I can't seem to get those really great quality images that others seem to get. I'm only using a Canon sx20is so I know it is not the best camera but is that really all it is coming down to? Is it simply the camera or am I doing something wrong?

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
Without samples to look at it would be difficult to tell you if you were doing something wrong.
Having said that, if you are unable to get good quality images with your Canon SX20 (and it's not broken) it probably is you rather than the camera. You have to understand what goes into a quality photo, and the capabilities and limitations of your equipment.
Post some samples and what you feel is lacking and I am sure you will get some useful feedback. You may also want to visit a photography site like dpreview.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
Oh god..whatever you do.. don't go to dpreview ! Their idea of understanding how to take a good picture is to compare corner to corner sharpness of brick walls ! If you're a Canon user you're MUCH better off getting advice from people whom actually WORK as photographers for a living. Try POTN.