Apple Mail is driving me nuts.

Reaction score
I have recently bought myself an iMAC27 which I like very much.
The problem I am having is with the Mail program which I have set up for a gmail account.

I delete the old emails that I no longer require, but they keep coming back again when I check for new emails, albeit in a different folder (Google All Mail).

Why is this and what can I do to stop it from happening?

Please keep the answers easy to follow, as I am new to using this.

C

chas_m

Chances are the answer is because you have Google set up NOT to delete emails, so it retains them on its server.

The first thing you should look at is your setup in Mail. Is Google set as POP or IMAP (it should be the latter)?

If it's set up as IMAP, check Mail's preferences under Accounts -> Mailbox Behaviours and make sure that "Store deleted messages on the server" is NOT checked.

If that's not the problem, you probably just need to visit GMail's web page and set the preferences there to reflect how you use Mail. Once that's done, mail deleted or moved from your inbox in Mail should be moved or deleted from GMail.

OP
N
Reaction score
Chances are the answer is because you have Google set up NOT to delete emails, so it retains them on its server.

The first thing you should look at is your setup in Mail. Is Google set as POP or IMAP (it should be the latter)?

If it's set up as IMAP, check Mail's preferences under Accounts -> Mailbox Behaviours and make sure that "Store deleted messages on the server" is NOT checked.

If that's not the problem, you probably just need to visit GMail's web page and set the preferences there to reflect how you use Mail. Once that's done, mail deleted or moved from your inbox in Mail should be moved or deleted from GMail.
Thanks for the advice. I changed the settings as you have suggested, so fingers crossed. :)