PDA

View Full Version : imovie and other audio inputs



joeyd929
05-19-2010, 10:15 AM
Hi. I have a macbook with the latest version of leopard. 4 gigs ram, 320 gig hard drive. Anyway, I want to use imovie to record some guitar playing so I need to record live playing.

The problem is that I can not use the built in mic because the fan comes on when imovie is running and all you can hear in the video is the fan running.

I have tried to get a direct input so that the guitar is recorded over the wire into the video but no matter what I do it only allows me to use the built in mic.

How do I get direct input to imovie. I have a usb guitar jack and even though I select the correct mode of input it still only records audio with the built in mic.

Totally frustrated I can't believe with all the technology and features a macbook can do that there is no way to record audio other than using the built in mic for videos. Please help, wanna throw this thing out the window.

Thanks in advance. Joe

Nethfel
05-19-2010, 11:10 AM
I'm not *sure* of this - as I don't use iMovie at all - but have you tried going into the System Preferences and in there selecting Sound and making sure the proper input device is selected? It may also be (and someone with more knowledge about iMovie then I might be able to answer this) that if you're using iMovie to record video through the webcam, you're locked into using the mic onboard. You'd probably be better off anyway getting a real video camera as the webcam is rather low resolution to record video with...

joeyd929
05-19-2010, 04:01 PM
I'm not *sure* of this - as I don't use iMovie at all - but have you tried going into the System Preferences and in there selecting Sound and making sure the proper input device is selected? It may also be (and someone with more knowledge about iMovie then I might be able to answer this) that if you're using iMovie to record video through the webcam, you're locked into using the mic onboard. You'd probably be better off anyway getting a real video camera as the webcam is rather low resolution to record video with...

Thats the odd part, it gives me the option to change input source but just doesn't recognize I press record. Hmmmm, there has got to be a way.

jmoutria
06-10-2010, 05:38 PM
Not sure if iMovie is the best option. Do you have Garage Band on your system? Seems like that would give you more options as far as editing, etc...