PDA

View Full Version : iMac G5 - Pro Tools optimization



TheAwesome
05-25-2005, 09:52 AM
Hi all!
Just wondering if there are any Pro Tools users on the site. I just bought an iMac G5 (my first ever mac) and am wondering if there are any optimization tips. This is a dedicated Studio computer which is only used for running audio software. Its maxed at 2gig of RAM and other than that is a standard 20" iMac G5.

Thanks for all your help!

tomasismyname
05-25-2005, 10:17 AM
although i do not use pro tools, i use reason and logic. how much was pro tools? a buddy of mine used to have it and it was amazing

TheAwesome
05-26-2005, 01:12 AM
ProTools is relatively cheep when you consider what you get for the money. For the MBox which is 2 in 2 out your only looking at around $1000 AUD (I am in Australia) and that includes the hardware AND software. When you consider Logic is about $1500 for just the software it starts to put things in perspective. I am on an endorsment with a music store in Sydney, Australia, so I buy things at a much better price than RRP. So to have 16 in and 16 out @ 24bit 96Khz and the ProTools Software all for under $2000 AUD is pretty impressive.

And in short, yes, ProTools IS amazing! When I went through my Audio Engineers course Cubase SX had just come out replacing VST, so it was all the rage. I used that for the duration of my course, but when I graduated I thought I would give Tools a go. Once I did I never looked back!