How can i get started with app development?

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I've been looking into Objective C, and I'm curious and would like to start developing iTouch/iPhone apps.

I've got some experience with AS2 (flash,) but i would like to start with apps.

I'm running Windows Vista, and I'm wondering how i can get started with Objective C, (in terms of downloading xcode, compilers, interface builders, or whatever..) as i don't really have a clue how to set everything up.

I downloaded and installed some GNU-step files.. but i don't know what to do now. If anybody can suggest some advice or maybe a few links on how to get the environment set up, and the text editor, compiler, and everything, then i'll be grateful.

Any form of Help greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Ricardo.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid
Developing for iPhone requires Mac OS X. Some third party development tools have appeared this year, but I think they too would require a Mac.

To learn Objective-C, the GNU stuff would be a fine starting place for the basics. GNUstep may get you a little further. Here is a presentation on that.

Really though, it is best to get a copy of Mac OS X, versions 10.5 (Leopard) or 10.6 (Snow Leopard), join the iPhone developer site on Apple for free to download the latest developer tools and play with them and the iPhone simulator. To test your apps on devices and to distribute your apps will require a $100 developer fee that is good for a year.

Although others have loaded OS X on non-Mac hardware, Apple does not license it that way and does not condone it.

OP
Reaction score
Alright, thanks for your help. I tried to download SDK from the Apple iPhone development center.. but it always says "processing request, refresh the page in a momment.." and i can never get to download it.