• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

I'm paranoid that Mac viruses will get more common!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" 1.5ghz PB,1gb RAM,64mb ATI,80gb HD+PowerMac G4 867mhz,640mb RAM,60gb HD+AirPort xpress+15gb Ipod
Hello there. I'm fairly new to the Mac world. I have lots of PC experience but made the switch back in November and, of course, not looked back. I am aware macs seem to escape viri but it seems that macs are becoming popular with the advent of the iPod and that people may start to write mac viri if they haven't already.

I have been reading threads about AV software and it seems that Virex is to be avoided at the moment and ClamAV and VirusBarrierX are the favoured ones. I have a lot of questions...

1. Has anyone installed ClamAV on a 1.5 ghz PowerBook or similar spec?, Did its CPU usage cause significant slowdown of the mac? I connect with other PC laptops at home via ethernet and we share broadband internet connections both ways. They have Norton for PC but don't always update definitions (silly I know). So any advice on how good the above AV programs are at finding PC viruses would also be great!