Recommended BT Wireless Router For Mac

Reaction score
Hi,

I recently brought a BT 2110 router but my MacBook was unable to connect dispite having full signal etc. After much troubleshooting i'm returning the router.

Now, can anybody recommend a BT wireless router which is proven to work well with Macs?

Thanks

Simon

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I highly recommend this model:

D-Link Xtreme N Gigabit Router

It's a little pricey, but well worth it. Excellent signal strength, good security options and easy to setup.

OP
S
Reaction score
Thanks for the suggestion, but i'd prefer somthing a little more affordable for now.

Also, is it possible to use a neatgear router, or any other brand of router, with a BT internet subscription? As you may have noticed i'm no expert on wireless.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thanks for the suggestion, but i'd prefer somthing a little more affordable for now.

Also, is it possible to use a neatgear router, or any other brand of router, with a BT internet subscription? As you may have noticed i'm no expert on wireless.

I assume BT stands for British Telecom? If so, did they supply you with a modem, or was their router a combination modem and router?

OP
S
Reaction score
Yeah, it is British Telecom. They supplied me with a standard modem which provides a wired connection only. It was the newer model I brought which was ment to replace it, but as my MacBook would not connect properly, I am again looking for a new router.

My second post was just to see whether a router made by a seperate company would be compatible with my existing internet connection.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Yes, any router should work with it - you'll just connect it to your modem.

I would steer clear of Netgear, however. Linksys and D-Link are the two brands I recommend.

OP
S
Reaction score