Apple Care?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I'm contemplating the switch from PC and was wondering whether the applecare plan is really worth the money as I am a student who is always looking to save where I can. I'm looking at the 15 inch macbook pro and at the student rate, the applecare plan is still $239.

I ordinarily wouldn't fork out the extra cash, but experienced a lot of issues with my current PC including: tons of installation issues with vista, motherboard went within 5 months, 2 batteries, 4 a/c adapters, etc.

It would be great if you could share some opinions on the applecare coverage and service as well as any hardware problems you might have had that would warrant purchasing the plan. Thanks for the help in advance!! :)

T

todd51

First off, next time do a search on the forums, because this topic has been covered a zillion times.

IMO, I think AppleCare is definitely worth it. Mainly because the Combo drive died in my MBP right out of the initial 1 year warranty. I took it to the Apple Store and within 20 minutes of waiting, I walked out with a new drive in my MBP for free. Another thing to note, is that you don't have to purchase the AppleCare right away. You can buy it anytime within it's 1 year warranty. Once you let it get out of the 1 year warranty, tough luck.

In my case, I just got a new iMac and haven't purchased AppleCare yet for it. I plan on paying this off and saving a little while longer before getting AppleCare. I will probably buy it sometime next spring or summer.

Reaction score