duo vs quad

Reaction score
I am looking to purchase my first mac...YEAH!! My question is, what benefit would the quad core give me over the duo core? I am a graphics artist for the screen printing and embroidery industry. I use Corel Draw, as well as AI. Generally, I will have at least 4 to 5 windows open at any given time on my current pc - which doesn't help its performance very much. If the quad core is the way to go...does anyone know the availabilty date of it yet, besides "november".
BTW, I will be installing windows on the new mac.
Thanks

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I'll try to answer your question in a different way...is the $300-$500 dollar up-charge for the quad-core a "big deal" or "no big deal"?

If no big deal...just get the quad core. Even if you don't need it now...it may come in handy in the future.

Plus you cannot upgrade later (dual core to quad core)...so you pretty much have to decide now.

As far as availability...it still seems to be a bit undetermined at this point. Someone else on the forum ordered one...and doesn't have an exact delivery date:

http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/apple-desktops/174280-what-do-until-arrives.html

Hope this helps,

- Nick

OP
K
Reaction score
The upcharge isn't an issue. I never thought about the lack of upgrading. I think I will wait for the quad...hopefully my anxious nature won't get the best of me!!!
Thanks for your suggestions..I am sure I will have many new questions once I finally receive my mac!!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 inch alMacBook 2GHz C2D 4G DDR3, 1.25GHz G4 eMac
Apple thanks you for your business, but shakes their head at you for not making use of their wonderful OS.

Anyway, the dual 3.06 will definitely work very well for you and do what you need to do, but as our friends here have pointed out.... quad core is quad core, man. That's always sweet. :) You going with the i5 or i7 variant?

Reaction score