New macbook pro user here

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" MBP 4gb of ram
Hi all! Bought a 13" macbook pro with 2gb of ram and immediately upgraded to 4gb. I am totally new to OS X and think i've adapted to it fairly well. There is definitely a learning curve to it tho. It has been about 3 weeks now and I can easily navigate through it.

Pros:

-Beautiful screen
-nice design
-the os does really guide you along
-iphoto with face recognition is awesome :p
-easy to upgrade components
-has features included that you have to install 3rd party apps on windows

cons(for me):

-it is way way slower on boot up than any windows machine i have (including an old single core athlon 2.0ghz with a 1gb of ram)
-it has been crashing programs or "beachballing" a lot
-needs 1 more usb and a hdmi port :p
-as I am disabled, i need an onscreen keyboard; windows has os x blown away on this front

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2013 rMBP, i7, 750m gpu, OSX versions 10.9.3, 10.10
Congrats on your new purchase!

cons(for me):

-it is way way slower on boot up than any windows machine i have (including an old single core athlon 2.0ghz with a 1gb of ram)

Personally I don't find it booting slower then XP or Vista. I see it taking a bit longer to get through POST, but after that, it seems the same speed to me.

-it has been crashing programs or "beachballing" a lot

This is not normal and should be looked into. Check this thread here for basic troubleshooting:

http://www.mac-forums.com/forums/os-x-operating-system/93819-basic-os-x-mac-troubleshooting.html

assuming you are using snow leopard, make sure the software you are using is compatible with it (including any additional startup programs you might have that might be causing problems)

-needs 1 more usb and a hdmi port :p