RAW -> JPEG + Metadata?

Reaction score
i just took a bunch of pictures monochromatic pics in RAW on my canon rebel xs, but when i import into iphoto, all the pics are colour! what is a safe and easy way to convert all these photos from RAW to JPEG while retaining the metadata? thanks

OP
L
Reaction score
i've tried using lightroom but im a total noob, but it too is rendering the pictures into colour. HOW DO I KEEP THE MONOCHROMATIC?!?!?!?!

itll show the picture how i took it then it goes 'rendering preview' and then the picture looks bland again without the monochromatic + red filter

Reaction score
When you take Monochromatic shots (Black & White) when shooting in RAW, there is a filter in camera that displays them for you in BW. However, they are captured as colour images so you can personally adjust every colour prior to saving a BW version as the end product. I know this as it shocked me also when I first did it on my Nikon.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Sooper Fast!
Take them as JPGs or convert them in post?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
BlackBook 13.3" 2.13ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 2gb SDRAM 160gb HD
+2 for Lightroom if you got it. Photoshop will also work but LR is faster... for me anyway.

Convert in post process and shoot in RAW. That gives you total control over the image. You can mimic classic filters like a red 25 or red 29 for extreme contrast or go the opposite way and adjust them to be flatter and gray. You can do the same with color JPEGs but with way less data and tonal range.

In short shot in color and adjust later into b/w.

To save the metadata work on duplicate images. Always "save as" and it'll be there. If using LR you will work from a copy anyway because it's non-destructive unless you save to the original.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
emac + macbook 13"