New MacBook User

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook 10.6.1 2.13 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 4 GB 800MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Hi I am new to the world of apple and just got my first mac book. Is there anything I should download right away or know about?

Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro, 4GB RAM, 250GB HD
U an msn fan?
You should get quicksilver its pretty awesome!!

OP
R
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
No I dont use MSN much.

So far I have coconut battery and handbrake installed.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 inch alMacBook 2GHz C2D 4G DDR3, 1.25GHz G4 eMac
You need to get adium for all of your instant messaging needs. It connects to every imaginable instant messaging server, and is highly skinnable. Good call on handbrake. OpenOffice is a must.... Quicksilver rocks, but you won't even begin to use it to its fullest for a long time. I've been using it for 6 months and still have only scratched the surface. Such a handy little app though.

Growl is nice for alerting you when things happen (new IM received, download complete, new song begins playing, etc). I'll post more as i think of them,

OP
R
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Growl and Open Office is awesome! Especially Open Office. Thank you!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27 iMac+Thunderbolt, iMac 21,
Yes - sort out our back up scene so if there is a HD problem in the future u do not lose all your important stuff. My MBP logic board failed at 18 months, so it does happen, but is not an issue if u are happy to be without a computer while it is repaired.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
Start backing up with Time Machine right away. Growl and Quicksilver are great. VLC to play unsupported movie files. Flip4Mac to play wmv's.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2.16GHz C2D MacBook w/ 2GB RAM & 120GB HD. HTC Droid Incredible.