Which audio editing software do you recommend?

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I've been researching which audio-editing software to buy for over a year now, and I still haven't found anything that's "just right" for my needs. Please help.:(

So here's what I need the software to do. I'm a pianist, and I play a REAL piano (not a keyboard). I make recordings of my piano compositions. The problem is, neither my piano nor my recording equipment are very good, so I'm looking for a software that will make the recordings sound more professional. Also (and this is very important), I need something that will allow me to edit mistakes and merge different takes.

For a while I thought Logic was my solution. But I bought a Logic handbook and found that Logic is geared more towards people who want to create midi or digital music. When I asked a Logic user if it was possible to edit a live performance with Logic, he said "yes, but it's difficult. Logic works best when you're working with digital music that has a consistent beat." (Much as I had suspected).

Is there anything on Mac that focuses especially on old-fashioned live recordings? ALSO: it would be great if the software were compatible with Audioease plug-ins.

Thanks SO much. (I'm off to bed now, but I'll read and reply to your responses tomorrow afternoon :Smirk:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro: 2 x Quad Core Xeon 3.0, 8 Gb RAM, 4TB Storage, 8800 GT
There is nothing that Logic cannot do. With the proper plugins (waves etc.) you will be able to edit your music very succesfully.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro Intel Core Duo, ProTools HD, Digi 192