Bootcamp: questions about 32bit & 64bit

Reaction score
I have a MBP 13" with 4GB of RAM, and as we all know, it uses the 9400m integrated graphics chip. I was wondering if I'd get more graphics performance if I used a 64bit version of windows as opposed to 32bit.

I want to play Left 4 Dead.

Reaction score
I have a MBP 13" with 4GB of RAM, and as we all know, it uses the 9400m integrated graphics chip. I was wondering if I'd get more graphics performance if I used a 64bit version of windows as opposed to 32bit.

I want to play Left 4 Dead.

I think that would depend on whether Left for Dead was a 64 bit application. I'm no expert in this area though...

Have you tried it on a 32 bit OS?

OP
M
Reaction score
I think that would depend on whether Left for Dead was a 64 bit application. I'm no expert in this area though...

Have you tried it on a 32 bit OS?

Yes, i've tried it with WinXP 32bit. It handled everything on medium-high, but I also tried medium and low. The game would play smoothly for a bit, but then the frame rate would drop very briefly. I just thought that if I had a 64bit OS, it would run better since it would recognize all 4GB of ram.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 2.33 4GB: MacPro 8 Core 2.8, 16GB: MacMini 2.26 4GB: MacMin 2.53 4GB: iPhone3GS 32GB
Recognizing 4GB of ram, and using 4GB of ram are two entirely different things. Further, most GPU intensive games (L4D would qualify) primarily use the GPU for rendering/performance. While Valve does provide 64 bit versions of their games I don't believe this will make any noticeable difference as the GPU you are running is limited.