PDA

View Full Version : Slideshow Advice

psychohistoric
07-06-2009, 02:47 AM
I've been tasked with making a slideshow for a friend's farewell party. I've never made one before and I'm not sure of the best way to go about it. I want to be able to burn (and play) it on a DVD, add music (and time transitions to the music) and text panels. I noticed iPhoto does slideshows, but it seems weak in the music edit/timing respect. That, or I'm missing something, which is entirely possible. I can also do it on iMovie HD. Are these the best programs to be using for this? Any suggestions or advice? I'm a Mac novice.

Mac'nCheese
07-06-2009, 06:16 AM
If you don't mind spending a few bucks for it, try PhotoMagico by Boinx. I used this to put together a slide show for my in-laws' 50th anniversary. It was very easy to create a professional looking show. You can adjust transitions and duration, as well as text, narration and music. You can download a demo and check it out here. Boinx Software - FotoMagico - Overview (http://www.boinx.com/fotomagico/overview/)

CrimsonRequiem
07-06-2009, 07:21 AM
I've been tasked with making a slideshow for a friend's farewell party. I've never made one before and I'm not sure of the best way to go about it. I want to be able to burn (and play) it on a DVD, add music (and time transitions to the music) and text panels. I noticed iPhoto does slideshows, but it seems weak in the music edit/timing respect. That, or I'm missing something, which is entirely possible. I can also do it on iMovie HD. Are these the best programs to be using for this? Any suggestions or advice? I'm a Mac novice.

Do you have the latest versions of iPhoto and iMovie? iPhoto does give you options to time the music better. Maybe you should play around with it a little more.

These two applications are not the best at making a slideshow...but it's probably one of the more easier ways to go about doing it.